This we are engaging with Janet Hagberg’s book Real Power. Hagberg’s model might interest you as a way to interpret the world; it might offer a tool to interpret your own development or your interactions with others. Listen to the Spirit as she loves you even as you are today. For context/introduction see the entry for June 10.

Today’s Bible Reading

Read Matthew 20:20-28

Jesus called them together and said, “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave— just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

More Thoughts for Meditation

Stage Five – Power by Purpose

“Stage Five is unlike all of the preceding stages. Its uniqueness likes in the strength of the inner person relative to the strength of the organizational hold on that person. The guide for behavior in Fives is their inner voice. They trust it more than they trust the rules. Stage Five people are different internally and externally now. They are more congruent because they no longer have to live two separate lives as Stage Fours do….

“Fives have a life ‘calling’ that extends beyond them. This has resulted from a deep, inner churning; a long, slow, or painful evolution in which the old rules have dropped away temporarily and old allegiances, ideas, and people have been reevaluated. These people have encountered themselves head on. They have hit the wall. They have engaged intimately with their Higher Power. They are letting go. They have glimpsed wisdom. And they are finding their inner truth, a life calling, and a moral imperative that goes beyond them. …

“Stage Five people are courageous. They have faced, and continue to face, their fears so they can act in spite of fear. They take risks, tell the truth to the organization, seek compassion, and love mercy. They do this despite the consequences. To be at home at Stage Five means giving away power and leading from behind, as a servant of the group. It is letting go of the written or organizational rules and living with a sense of inner compassion and order. It is learning to strive for others or more often for principles. Above all it is not ego oriented. That is way Stage Fives are called the irregulars in organizations. This is the reason they are so easily misunderstood. No one knows what their agenda is because they don’t have an agenda….

“Stage Five people believe that power multiplies infinitely. The more power you can give away, the better. Power is like love: You can’t have it truly until you give it away or let it go, and the more of it you give unselfishly, the more it multiplies. Fives know that love or power given away comes back full circle but not in the same form in which it was given. They do not attempt to gain or accumulate power because they find the other forms in which it reappears, like caring, appreciation, and friendship, more rewarding.”

Real Power, Janet Hagberg, pp145-146

Suggestions for Action

Can we release our ego involvement without intimacy with God?

If you find it possible – find a calm place – close your eyes – present something that is troubling you to God. Still your mind, listen for God’s reaction. God might draw near in your imagination – you might receive a mental image of God caring for you, or leading you, or being present with you.

If you can’t practice this now:

  1. Can you make a date to do this later? Maybe you need a calendar appointment to meet with God.
  2. Practice the graciousness God feels for you in your approach to your schedule. Appreciate God’s care for you amidst your business.

Pray – God, help me face the range of my fears, and develop my inner voice. Allow me to release myself from the “rules” I imagine bind me – and enjoy intimacy with you. As you have given me your love and your authority, help me receive them, and help me pass them on.